Schedules of the Indian Constitution

At the time of the constitution coming into force on 26 January 1950, there were 8 schedules. Currently their number has increased to 12. which is like this:-
First Schedule: – It describes the constituent states and union territories of the Indian Union.
Note: Delhi has been given the status of National Capital Territory by the 62nd amendment of the Constitution. Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh on 2 June 2014, before which the number of states was 28.
Second Schedule: – It consists of various officials of the Indian polity (President, Governor, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha, Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Chairman and Deputy Speaker of Legislative Assembly, Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Legislative Council, Judges of Supreme Court and High Courts and Controller of India. Auditor General etc.) is a description of salary, allowances and pension etc.
Third Schedule: –It describes the swearing in at the time of assuming office by various office bearers (President, Vice President, Minister, Supreme and High Court Judges).
Fourth Schedule: – In this, the representation of various states and federal territories in the Rajya Sabha is given.
Fifth Schedule: – It contains provisions regarding the administration and control of various Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes.
Sixth Schedule: – It contains provisions regarding the administration of the tribal areas of the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram.
Seventh Schedule: – In this, there has been told about the sharing of powers between the center and the states, there are three lists under it.

  1. Union List :- The central government makes laws on the subject given in this list, at the time of the constitution coming into force, there were 97 subjects in it, at present it has 98 subjects.
  2. State List :-The state government makes laws on the subject given in this list, the central government can also make laws in relation to the national interest, there were 66 subjects at the time of the constitution coming into force, at present it has 62 subjects.
  3. Concurrent List :- Under the given subject, both the central and state governments can make laws, but the law made by the central government is valid only if the subject of the law is the same. The law made by the state government ends with the making of the law of the central government, there were 47 subjects in the concurrent list at the time of enactment of the constitution, at present it has 52 subjects.
    Note: – India has a federal system according to which administrative subjects are divided between the Center and the States.

Eighth Schedule: –It mentions 22 languages of India, originally there were 14 languages in the Eighth Schedule, Sindhi in 1967 and Kokani, Manipuri and Nepali were included in the Eighth Schedule in 1992, Maithili, Santhali, Dogri in 2004 AD. And Bodo were included in the eighth schedule.
Ninth Schedule: – This schedule was added by the First Constitution Amendment 1951. It is related to the abolition of Zamindari.
Note: – The ninth schedule includes those laws which are outside the scope of judicial review.
Tenth Schedule: – It has been added to the Constitution by the 52nd Amendment of 1985. It describes the provisions related to defection.
Eleventh Schedule: – This schedule has been added to the Constitution by the 73rd Constitutional Amendment (1993), in which 29 subjects have been provided to Panchayati Raj Institutions to function.
Twelfth Schedule: – This Schedule has been added by the 74th Constitutional Amendment (1993), in which 18 subjects have been provided for working to the local self-government institutions in urban areas.

Spread the love