Major committees

Committees of Constituent Assembly:-     23 committees were formed by the members of the Constituent Assembly, of which there were 8 major and 15 small committees.


         Committee                                                                                          President

Drafting committee                                                                          Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar

The union                                                                                  Jawahar Lal Nehru

Fundamental Rights and Minorities Committee                             Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel

Flag committee                                                                             Rajendra Prasad

Provincial Integration Committee                                                 Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel

Native princely settlement committee                                                     Rajendra Prasad

The most important of all the committees of the Constituent Assembly was the drafting committee.

It was formed on 29 August 1947. It was the committee which was entrusted with the responsibility of drafting the new constitution. It had 7 members. Whose name is as follows.

Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar, N. Gopal Swami Iyengar, Alladi Krishna Swami Iyer, Kanhaiyalal Manik Lal Munshi, N.K. Madhav Rao (in place of BL Mitra), DP Khaitan (T. Krishnamachari after his death in 1948), Syed Mohammed Sadulla

The first meeting of the Constituent Assembly was held on 9 December 1946, in which the provisional president was Sachchidananda Sinha. On 11 December 1946, Dr. Rajendra Prasad was made the permanent chairman. Harishchandra Mukherjee was made the Deputy Speaker of the Constituent Assembly.

Became Advisor to Constituent Assembly B.N Rao (Benegal Nursing Rao). The first draft of the constitution was prepared in October 1947 by B.N Rao. Three discussions were held in the Constituent Assembly while considering the draft of the constitution. In this, 11 sessions 141 were held. The third and final reading took place between 14 November 1949 to 26 November 1949.

On 26 November 1949, 284 members of the Constituent Assembly signed the constitution, including 8 women. On 26 November 1949, the people of India adopted the constitution. On this day, 16 paragraphs (5,6,7,8,9,60,324,366,367,379,380,388,391,392,393,394) were implemented. The last meeting of the Constituent Assembly was held on 24 January 1950. The Constitution of India came into force on 26 January 1950.

The work of writing the constitution was done by Prem Bihari Narayan Rayajayda. While it was translated into Hindi by Raghuvar Das Veera. The inside of the Constitution was painted by Nandlal Bose, a student of Shanti Niketan, while these pictures were not considered part of the Constitution. The original representative of the Constitution is placed in the central chamber of the Parliament House in the container of helium and nitrogen. That did not make the pages of the Constitution yellow nor spread its ink.

Features of the constitution:-

  • The largest constitution in the world because it is a single constitution of the center and the states.
  • A mixture of ductile and inflexible (rigid and flexible).
  • It is a federal constitution, Which means that in India, along with the center, there is also the Astigmatic of the states.
  • A unitary constitution is one where states do not exist. Eg- England, Switzerland
Spread the love